If you have had a few rounds of beer, you could easily be stopped by traffic police for the offense of DUI. This could lead to serious charges as the termination of your driver’s license among other offenses. The following is an overview of DUI offenses in Virginia.
It is illegal to drive with a blood alcohol concentration of .08 and above. For commercial drivers, the limit is 0.04 whereas, for drivers who are below 21 years, the limit is 0.02.
Punishment for a DUI Offense
On your first DUI offense in Virginia, you are going to pay a $250 minimum penalty and you will have your driver’s license suspended for a year. If, during this time, you were found to be traveling with a child who is below 17 years, you will be sentenced to a minimum of 5 days in jail. You may also be asked to pay a fine ranging from $500-$1000. If your BAC ranges from .15-.20 during the time of your arrest, you will get a minimum jail sentence of 5 days. For a BAC that is .20 and above, the minimum jail sentence is ten days.
On your second DUI conviction in Virginia, you will be required to pay a fine of not less than $500. You may also have your driver’s license suspended for three years. If your second conviction comes within a period of 10 years of your first conviction, you will be sentenced to a minimum jail term of 10 days. If the offense occurs within a period of 5 years of your first offense, you will be sentenced to a minimum jail term of 20 days. In this offense, the installation of an ignition interlock gadget on all the vehicles you operate is mandatory.
If you get a 3rd conviction within a period of 10 years of the second conviction, this offense will be considered as a felony. The penalty for a 3rd offense is the revocation of your driver’s license for an indefinite period and a fine of not less than $1,000. You will be required to install an ignition interlock device on all your automobiles to restrict your driving privileges. If this offense was carried out within a period of 5 years of your second offense, you would get a minimum jail sentence of 6 months. You will also be ordered to surrender your vehicle.
In case you are facing a DUI conviction, contact our attorneys at the law office of Gregory Hough in Virginia increase your chances of reduced penalties or even to help you challenge the conviction if you have been charged wrongfully.